oreo whiskey banana bread

I read somewhere once that an easy way to clean up your finances and start saving more is to stop wasting food.

Seems simple, right? I sort of cringe when I think about the amount of milk I’ve poured down the drain after I’ve soured, the spotted vegetables that have met their demise in the trash can, the soft, moldy fruit I discover in the back of my refrigerator.

This is a gross way to begin a recipe post – and I apologize. But there’s a point, I promise. For most of your wasted food, there’s no fix. But sometimes, there’s this shining light –Β banana bread.

And is there anything better than banana bread warm out of the oven, with a little melted butter spread on top, soft in the middle with a crunchy crust?

Probably not. Except if you add some whiskey into your batter, giving it a rich bite as an undertone. And maybe you crush some Oreos on top, adding a sweet edge that pulls out the flavor of the banana.

Be right back – I’m headed to make this bread again.

IMG_20130821_211741

Whiskey banana bread

Adapted from The Smitten Kitchen

BONUS: for all my friends and readers who are just as lazy as me (Dishes? ain’t nobody got time for that) you can mix this WHOLE dough in one big bowl! More time for wine and reality television, am I right?

3 overripe bananas

1/3 cup melted butter (I used unsalted)

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 and 1/2 tablespoon whiskey

1 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 and 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg

1 and 1/2 cups flour

3 Oreos

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, spray loaf pan with nonstick baking spray and set aside. (I made my bread in a traditional, 4×8 pan)

2. Mash the bananas, mix butter in. Add sugar, egg, vanilla and whiskey and mix well.

3. Add in spices and mix. Add baking soda and salt all at once, mix to combine. Lastly, add flour and mix until completely incorporated.

4. Pour into loaf pan. Using your hands (get messy!) crush the Oreos on top, scattering evenly.

5. Bake 40-45 minutes. Let cool enough to slide out of the pan – and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

