baguette french toast with fresh berries

Sometimes I think this blog should be called Carb lovers only. Carb-a-holics. All Things Bread. I try and I try to give up white breads, and to give up sugar (I’ve been moderately successful. Sometimes I talk myself into whole wheat pasta and pizza dough. Baby steps!).

The thing is, it’s just too delicious. And then things like baguette french toast are born.

So, this recipe. I made it for my boyfriend on a lazy Sunday morning after we’d spent our anniversary celebration the day before picking berries at Butler’s Orchard. Prepare to see another berry recipe coming soon!

We had half a baguette leftover from a delicious Italian feast he’d made two nights before. It was from Lyon Bakery, in Union Market – I work for the Market, but my love for Lyon’s products is pure and without bias. #Carbs.

This recipe is really, crazily easy. No forethought required – no need to soak the bread overnight (though I bet that’d make it even more delicious). Just slice, dip and toast. I made it with a little less than half a baguette, but it only (generously) served one. My boyfriend can eat a lot, so his plate may serve two if you have small stomachs, or if you’re making other delicious food!

IMG_1681

baguette french toast with fresh berries

1. Slice half an old (slightly stale, but not rock hard) baguette into 1-inch slices

2. Whisk together three eggs and 2/3 a cup of skim milk

3. Mix in: two tablespoons of white sugar, one teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 a teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 a teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 a teaspoon of salt.

4. Dip each slice of bread in the mixture, about 30 seconds – a minute on each side.

5. Cook on a buttered, nonstick skillet or pan until golden brown (I burned some pieces!) on each side.

6. Top with powdered sugar, fresh berries and maple syrup.

2 thoughts on “baguette french toast with fresh berries

  1. Pingback: fig, proscuitto and gorgonzola pizza | Chicken Baby

  2. Pingback: fig, proscuitto and gorgonzola pizza | Chicken Baby

Leave a Reply

